New Oregon Car Seat Law

Oregon law now requires that all toddlers ride in a rear-facing car seat until they are at least 2 years old.

This new law took effect on May 25, 2017. It better aligns Oregon law with the recommendations of the American Pediatric Association, which says toddlers should ride in a rear-facing seat for as long as they fit, which could be up to 3 years old for some children. According to the National Center for Biotechnology Information, injuries caused by car crashes have declined over the last 30 years, but are still the “leading cause of death for children 1 to 4 years of age.” For more information, visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website.